• Top Produced Voices
  • Posts
  • From Small Wins to Big Leaps: Lessons from My Biggest Podcast Episode Yet

From Small Wins to Big Leaps: Lessons from My Biggest Podcast Episode Yet

What My Latest Podcast Taught Me About Preparation and Consistency

Hey Trailblazer,

This week, as I write this, I’ve released my biggest podcast episode yet. I don’t want to diminish the importance of any of the guests I’ve spoken with—I’m grateful for every single person who joined me and truly enjoyed our conversations. However, speaking with a book author who has appeared on some of the biggest podcasts in the industry was on a different level.

I’m sharing this today in the hope of motivating you to pursue your goals, aspirations, and dreams. It took me more than 60 podcast episodes, a year of regular releases, and continuous networking online. While it may not seem like a big deal to some, I see it as a significant achievement, and I believe we should celebrate even the small victories.

So, that’s one part of it. I hope it illustrates that consistency and hard work pay off, or at least yield some surprising and positive results. I hope this is just the beginning and that I’ll be able to bring you even more inspiring guests. There’s also the second part: although I consider this a great milestone, it taught me a valuable lesson.

To give you some behind-the-scenes insight into how I approach my podcast, I typically do minimal research in advance. Yes, I know where this is heading. I prefer to speak with guests as someone who doesn’t know them well, which allows me to introduce them fully to the listeners. If I did extensive research, there would be questions I wouldn’t ask because I’d already know the answers or might simply forget to ask them.

I enjoy being curious, discovering new things for the first time, and being spontaneous. However, this approach wasn’t ideal for this particular interview. To be honest, I hadn’t read the book before the recording. I purchased it as soon as I could and picked it up just 1.5 hours before our recording, and the audio version wasn’t available in the UK yet. I should have prepared better and anticipated what would be necessary.

I don’t want to overwhelm you with details, but I hope I’ve conveyed the message. Firstly, stay consistent, be patient, and work hard—I'm sure it will pay off sooner or later. Secondly, prepare in advance and use common sense. Don’t underestimate its importance. Now, I’d like to hear from you:

  • Can you share an example when consistency paid off for you?

  • What are you currently working on, believing it will yield results in the future?

  • When did you underestimate a situation and learn a valuable lesson?

As always, I look forward to hearing from you and will make sure to reply.

Keep trailblazing,
Tommen 🚀